iPhone Reset

Sometimes you want to perform Reset for your iPhone. Reasons can be like you might be selling your iPhone so you want to wipe your personal data, there are some issues like hanging or getting slow down of your Apple phone, your device affected with virus and many other reasons. In such cases performing a clean reset is the best way to delete all data on your iOS device.

There are certain things to remember before you go any further to reset your iOS device. First of all charge your battery full, remove your SIM and memory card (if any) from your device. Next backup all your important data to cloud, be it media, documents etc. Unlike Android devices iOS doesn’t simply erase files and show as free space, instead it removes all data completely and it can’t be recovered.

As soon as you are sure that you have done with data backup you can perform reset to your iPhone or iPad. There are three types of reset you can perform depending on your scenario.

  1. Soft reset of an iPhone or iPad
  2. Hard reset of an iPhone or iPad
  3. Performing remote reset for your iPhone or iPad

Soft Reset of an iPhone or iPad:

If your phone become unresponsive or some apps got crashed you can perform soft reset. It doesn’t delete your data or apps from your phones but simply rebooting will be done to your iOS device in order to have a fresh start without following regular shutdown procedure. The process for Soft reset is

  • Press and hold the Sleep/Wake button (which is at top of your device) and Power button (which is at bottom) simultaneously for 5- 10 seconds.
  • Continue holding those two buttons until device shuts off and begin to restart automatically and displays Apple logo. That may take around 20 seconds.

Note: White devices will display white screen with black Apple logo where as black devices will display black screen with white Apple logo.

Hard Reset of an iPhone or iPad:

Hard reset will remove entire your data including personal data, apps, media files etc. Only thing you need for wiping your data is your device’s passcode, Apple ID and password.

  1. Go to Settings à General  ­à Reset à Select an option called Erase All Content and Settings

Reset All Settings: All your preferences and settings are reset

Erase All Content and Settings: Resets all your data and settings and your device cannot be used until it is set up again.

Reset Network Settings: Resets all your network settings, previously used networks and VPN settings which were not installed by configuration profile.

  1. A pop up will be displayed asking for your device passcode and Apple ID.
  2. The device will wipe everything off and go back to the initial set up screen which you saw when you first used the device.

Performing remote reset for your iPhone or iPad:

Suppose if you have lost your iPhone or iPad and want to wipe out all your personal data from your device you can do it remotely.

  1. Go to iCloud.com/#find à Enter your Apple ID à Click Find My Phone
  2. Hit on the option All Devices à Choose the device you want to erase
  3. Click Erase iPhone/iPad.